Overcoming Self-Doubt

19 Mar

Yesterday, in my Motivational Monday post, I talked about how I wanted to be more confident in my running, and be able to be ok with being comfortable being uncomfortable. I mentioned that I get nervous before long runs, or tempo workouts because I’m scared of not being able to finish. I hate not being able to finish, or having to walk back home because I couldn’t make it. I get nervous before long runs because I’m always scared my shins will hold me back. I get scared doing tempo workouts at a certain pace, because I’m afraid I won’t be able to finish, and will have to walk to take a break in between.

These are all irrational fears, I know. I mean, come on, it’s just a run! But I know I need to gain more confidence and feel powerful on my runs if I want to set PRs this year in the half marathon and marathon. In order to do this, I need to conquer my long runs, and despite feeling crappy or tired one day, I need to get my runs in and not make excuses.

I talked to my running coach, Marc, about my fears and nervousness, and he gave me great advice I wanted to share with you all. I will keep his words in mind on my next tough run!

So let’s say you absolutely cannot run 4 miles at 9 minutes a mile…what will happen?  You won’t die.  The absolute worst that can happen is you can’t do it.  So we work harder.  We get more consistent.  We focus on getting better every single day.

When I first started running as a freshman, I didn’t think I could ever keep up with the best freshman on the team, let alone the best guy on the team…and within 6 months of me taking up running, I was the best sophomore cross country runner in the state.  I was worried about everyone else and wasn’t focused on me.  I put a ceiling on myself and when I was able to say, the worst that will happen is I don’t run fast, it took all of this pressure off and I was able to blow my dreams out of the water.

I’m not saying it’s going to be easy or come over night, but if you don’t try and see what you’re made of, then what’s the point?  Right?  If you fail, you’ll know your limits.  You’ll know what you have to work on, and what it will take to get better.

Everyone has doubts, even the best…so don’t think that you’re the only one.  There have been PLENTY of runs, where I feel like absolute crap and I stop and ask myself what the hell I’m doing… and then I shake it off and get back to work.

I felt really inspired by his words and wanted to share that with others who may feel the same as I do. I am so ready to PR in my races this year, but like I said in yesterday’s post, I need to “get comfortable with being uncomfortable” during certain runs…and be more confident!
Have you felt this way before? How do you change your mindset?
4 Responses to “Overcoming Self-Doubt”

  1. k8efitz March 19, 2013 at 7:39 am #

    I always feel that with every new race I MUST PR – I can completely relate to your thoughts.

    • reach-yourpeak March 19, 2013 at 11:55 am #

      I feel the same with each race! And then I’m disappointed. It’s hard not to strive for a Pr every race though!

  2. jsresults March 19, 2013 at 8:24 am #

    Awesome post! Spot on! Self doubt is a factor in everyones mind. Overcoming it and succeeding is what separates the good from the best!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Health/Fitness Links To Get You Through The Day | - March 20, 2013

    […] blog post on stepping out of your comfort zone and not being able to do so. Goes with the theme of some of my posts this […]

Leave a Reply

