Half Marathon Training Week 6: 9 Miler Recap

16 Mar

I’m a little late on this posting, but I actually took pictures on my run so I wanted to write about it!

On Wednesday, my mom and I headed out for 9 miles. I was really nervous because all day my left shin had been hurting a bit. I didn’t want to get to mile 4 and have to give up because of pain. The miles ticked by and I felt okay, and I just really hoped I’d make it to mile 9!

The first few miles were uneventful until a little past mile 3 when we hit the hills. There was a really long, steep hill here, but that wouldn’t be the end of it. The rest of the run was rolling hills (I guess I should have checked the elevation charts beforehand). We trained on this route for the marathon so I totally thought we’d be okay, but the hills were really tiring!

These pictures were after the first big hill, around mile 3-4. Those miles were through the Trump National Golf Course, so it was a pretty scenic run, though it was cloudy so you can’t really tell from the pictures.

photo 2

photo 3

photo 4

Side note: membership fee for Trump Golf Course is $300,000 a year!!! Crazy…

Anyway, after we left the course we were on a hilly road for 2-3 miles. Around mile 5 I had half a banana as fuel, but I don’t think it was enough because I was slowly fading by the end and having to walk a few times. My quads were burning! The last mile actually came up quickly but was the hardest. I imagined it was the last mile of the NYC Marathon and that there was no way I would walk or slow down in the last mile. It worked and I had a faster last mile but I was dunzo by the end. We finished in about 1:35. I guzzled down my NUUN water and normal water and stretched for a bit. I’m thinking I’m going to need more fuel for the next long run.

Has anyone tried fueling with bananas? Do you use NUUN? How do you use it? I need all the fueling help I can get!

One Response to “Half Marathon Training Week 6: 9 Miler Recap”

  1. jsresults March 16, 2013 at 4:01 pm #

    I don’t know what NUUN is but I do like banana’s as a source of FUEL! Awesome job on the run and thats awesome that your mother runs with you! Keep it up!

Leave a Reply

