When You Just Don’t Feel Like Working Out

14 Mar

I had one of those days on Tuesday. My half marathon training class was cancelled, so a long run wasn’t happening, but I knew I had to get a 3 miler in. My mom and I headed to the gym to run on the treadmills, but I had no desire to do so. Sometimes, it’s just one of those days where you’re tired and unmotivated. It’s ok…we all have them!

But I got in the run anyway. Here’s how I trick myself into getting workouts in when I don’t want to. I simply break the workout into smaller pieces. I hadn’t slept well the night before and was really tired…I knew a continuos 3 mile run at a normal pace was just not in the books.

So I told myself I could run at a little bit faster pace than usual (6.3 instead of 6.0) for 3 minutes, and then do a brisk walk for 1 minute, and repeat until I hit 3 miles. This made the run a lot easier for me. I also do this at the end of long runs or in races…I just visualize the last mile to be an easy 4 laps around a track. It’s all about playing tricks on your brain!

You can do this while strength training too. Just focus on the first group of exercises and the fact that it’s only 3 sets, then move on. By the end of the first 3 sets, guarantee you will feel ready to tackle the next set of exercises, and if not, just simply do 2 sets of them.

We all have our off days, and it’s ok to take it easy when you aren’t feeling 100%.

What do you do when you are feeling unmotivated?

Leave a Reply

