Off Days

21 Feb

Some days, you just have off days.

On Tuesday, I met with my half-marathon training class. We had 6 miles planned for the intermediate group, and 4-5 for the beginner group. I really wanted to do 6. Welp…that didn’t happen.

Around 2 miles I started struggling. My calves/achilles area was burning (felt like lactic acid buildup?). I had to stop and stretch a few times but it would come back after a few minutes. This then led to my shins hurting, especially my right one. I ended up turning back early, and did 4.2 miles. Sigh.

I was really disappointed. I hate days like those. Days where everything seems to be working against me. It’s disheartening and frustrating. I’m surprised I even got 4 miles done! I resolved that I would run 6 miles on my own later this week.

Some days I feel awesome. No shin pain, no nothing. Other days, my calves are on fire and my shins feel like they are super tender. It’s really hit or miss. I am so lucky that didn’t happen at the NYC Marathon in 2011…or I’d be furious!

So now I have to run 6 miles on my own…and I better not have any pain! I thought this quote was fitting:

I will need to do this run on my own, but I will get it done. I will push myself when no one else is around. I could easily just do a longer run next week with my group again, but I want to get this done.

Some days you just have off days. But you need to work past them, and remember those days you feel great. I guess not all days, whether it’s running, lifting, etc., can be perfect workout days.

How do you feel when you have an off day?

Leave a Reply

