Winter Wonderland Run

11 Feb

As most of you know, winter storm Nemo hit on Friday into Saturday. I knew I needed to run Saturday, and figured it would be on the treadmill. However, that would require me shoveling my car out in the morning…

So I was like ok fine, I can run outside…I’ve ran in 3 degree weather before, I can run in 17 degrees. Then I heard the wind howling outside and saw it was going at about 25 mph and was unsure. I tweeted about how I wasn’t sure if I was going to run because of the crazy wind, and this is the response I got from my running coach, Marc.

marcAnd that is why I have a running coach! Talk about tough love and motivating you to run!

So I went out for the run, and told myself if it was too bad I would make it a 2 mile run instead of 3. I actually felt great and despite going at a bit slower pace due to the snow, it was an awesome run.

The park in my town.

Snow makes for such beautiful, serene runs. If only it wasn’t so dang cold! I wanted to do 3.5 miles, but ended up doing 3…but not intentionally. I did a 1.5 mile out and back route but somehow it added up to 3 miles? Not sure how that happened…

Anyway, I also got negative splits!

Overall, it was a great run and I’m glad I went. As the saying goes, “I really regret that run…said no one ever.”

How do you push yourself out the door when you reeaaaalllyyyyy don’t want to go?

3 Responses to “Winter Wonderland Run”

  1. jsresults February 11, 2013 at 7:12 pm #

    Awesome job getting out there and BEASTIN it! πŸ™‚

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Motivational Monday! | - November 25, 2013

    […] here, but felt like even less with windchill. I’ve ran in the cold before, begrudgingly, and after a snow storm, but it ended up not being bad at […]

Leave a Reply

