What’s Really Inside a Caramel Frappuccino

6 Feb

I received an email from Livestrong today with some crazy facts about what’s inside a Caramel Frap.

I don’t know about you, but I love frappuccinos. Back in high school, every time I went to the mall with a friend I would stop by Starbucks to have one. My friend was way more of an addict than I was though…she’d get one when we got to the mall, and once we were done shopping! Once she even got mad at me because I rushed her to leave and she didn’t have time to get her frappuccino. True story…sorry Nicole =P

Anyway, I only indulge in these every so often, and for good reason. These nutrition facts make me think twice before I order one.

So Livestrong posted the nutritional facts for a Venti (which is the biggest size).

510 calories, 17g fat, 84g carbs, 81g sugar, 6g protein

At least it has 6 grams of protein?

Plus, the ingredients are just frappuccino mix, whipped cream, caramel and sugar.

With 81 grams of sugar, drinking one Starbuck’s Venti Blended Caramel Frappuccino will give you the same amount of sugar as if you had eaten: one full size Kit Kat bar (22g), one full-size bag of Peanut M&M’s (25g), one full-size box of Milk Duds (27g), AND four Everlasting Gobstoppers (7g)!

Taken from livestrong.com

Whaaaaaat?? It helps when you can envision how much actual food a liquid beverage equates to. Of course, the Venti is the largest size so it has a lot more sugar, but even a tall has 40g of sugar. That’s a LOT of sugar.

If you want your sweet fix, get a cup of tea or coffee and add flavoring to it. When I drank coffee, I’d get a cafe americano and add 1 pump of a flavor (pumpkin, vanilla) and it’s waaaaaay less sugar and calories. An Americano is probably like 30 calories if that (straight up espresso and water).

Do you drink frappuccinos? What is your guilty pleasure drink?

Leave a Reply

