4 Mile Run = Longest Run in Months!

6 Feb

Yesterday I had my half-marathon training class, in which I am one of the assistant coaches. It’s our second week, and for the intermediate group we ran 4 miles. This is the longest I have ran since beginning of December probably!

I was a little nervous actually, even though I really had no reason to be. I have been doing 3 miles consistently, so 1 more mile would be fine.

But then I was warming up and could already tell my shins were going to be hurting. When they are sore as I do jumping jacks and stuff I know it will be a tough run! Sigh… #runnerprobz

I ran with one of the girls in the class which definitely helps the time go by. Also, had she not been there, I know I would have made a million excuses and ended the run at 2-3 miles, and told myself I’d make it up later in the week. I’d think, “my shins hurt…my calves are so tight…it’s really cold…” It was just one of those days where you’re not really itching to run but you just gotta do it.

Which is why I’m so glad I had a running buddy! We chatted and talked about races we’ve done, and before I knew it we were done. I also ran at a faster pace than I’m used to, because I wanted to keep up with her. It was tough, but I could still hold a conversation which is good.

What I learned from this run is that even when your brain is telling you to quit and just do it another day, your body will surprise you. You have a lot of gas left in the tank, and you are able to push past that tiredness or what have you to finish your run. Same goes with lifting. The other day I was on my last set of pullups and thought I could only do 6 reps…then I heard a personal trainer motivating his client with “Come on! You can do it!” and imagined him yelling that at me…and lo and behold I finished the full set! I found this quote that relates perfectly…even if you’re not a runner the message is the same:

Conquer your mind and you will surprise yourself. Can’t wait to see how our 5 mile run goes next week…I actually am nervous for that!

When has your mind told you to quit but you kept going…and felt awesome after?

4 Responses to “4 Mile Run = Longest Run in Months!”

  1. neonspndx February 6, 2013 at 12:52 pm #

    Great inspiration. I forwarded this onto a friend who JUST emailed me saying she ran 4 miles and was nervous at first but kept pushing herself. Thanks for sharing!

    • reach-yourpeak February 6, 2013 at 12:54 pm #

      Sometimes it’s tough but you just gotta push through! Thanks for the comment and for forwarding =)

  2. peachylau February 6, 2013 at 1:51 pm #

    Amazing quote! After reading this, I feel proud to call myself a distance runner!

    • reach-yourpeak February 6, 2013 at 2:12 pm #

      I felt inspired too! I’m a sucker for motivational quotes lol

Leave a Reply

