Half-Marathon Training Begins!

1 Feb

This past Tuesday I had my first half-marathon training class at Rutgers. I am one of the assistant coaches and love it! We have about 20 people who signed up with the goal of running their first half-marathon on April 21. I won’t be running it with them, but I’m running one on April 27. This is the perfect way for me to do my long runs with a group, plus my mom is signed up and will join as well!

I have been running 2-3 times a week, so…not enough. But I’m starting back up with my running coach on Monday…which gives me a lot of motivation and accountability!

Which is why I ran 3 miles yesterday even though I was so. tired. I woke up at 6 am today to travel to Arlington. I’m visiting a friend and will be presenting at a conference today. I took Amtrak in which was a way better idea than driving. PS – Can we talk about how beautiful Union Station is? Love the architecture!

View as I stepped out of the station. It was a beautiful day!

I was exhausted when I got here. 1) I am not a morning person. 2) There was a crazy wind/rain storm on Wednesday night that kept me up. I hung out with my friend for a bit, got lunch, then passed out for a good 2 hours.

When I got up I was all confused and still groggy, but I dragged my butt to her apartment gym, and did 3 miles on the treadmill! Sometimes you gotta do what you gotta do. Get it done.

I ended up doing rolling hills for 3 miles. For example, I did 2 hills for 60 sec (5.0 and 6.0 inclines), then at 8.0 and 9.0 inclines I did both for 45 seconds. Finally, I ended at 10.0 and 11.0 incline, both for 30 seconds. I took a 2-3 minute break in between, just running at an easy pace.

Felt awesome when I finished, and I’m glad I didn’t skip out even though I really wanted to.

How do you motivate yourself when you really don’t want to exercise?

One Response to “Half-Marathon Training Begins!”

  1. Melissa February 1, 2013 at 8:07 am #

    I love Union Station too. Absolutely gorgeous.

Leave a Reply

