Trader Joe’s Haul

28 Jan

I finally went to Trader Joe’s! And it was awesome. I used to love Whole Foods but I am definitely making the switch over to Trader Joe’s now. While Whole Foods has more options (like a deli, meat/butcher, etc), Trader Joe’s wins in overall value. Things are much cheaper at TJ’s and some items I found were less than even at my normal grocery store. #winning

I wanted to share with you all what I picked up. I didn’t get a ton of stuff, but a few things to get me through the week. Here they are:

photo 1Above there is some Ezekiel bread, all-natural, hormone-free chicken, turkey bacon, mushrooms, and all-natural turkey breast slices. I made a delicious collard wrap with my turkey slices for lunch today which I can’t wait to eat. For dinner, I made some chicken stew in the crockpot.

IMG_8939

Here we got a pineapple, eggplant (because I have only had it like…once…and keep hearing how good it is), onions, and a pomegranate to try eating as a snack.

IMG_0265Lastly, I picked up some avocados, tomatoes, fresh apples, and organic, grass-fed beef. While grass-fed beef is a bit pricey, my mom and I decided it’s worth the investment so we’re not eating meat with a bunch of hormones and other added stuff in it. In order to save money, we will be eating 1-2 meatless dishes a week (which is also healthier too!).

I can’t wait to eat delicious, clean meals this week. As I wrote this morning, I was frustrated last week with my lack of progress, and wasn’t eating that great. I’m ready to get back into it this week because being healthy is much more than just looking good on the outside.

Do you shop at Trader Joe’s? What are your favorite grocery store items you HAVE to pick up each time? Mine are bananas!

3 Responses to “Trader Joe’s Haul”

  1. eatwellchef January 28, 2013 at 1:48 pm #

    Hi, Patty:

    I like your conversational writing style. It’s always good to find alternative places to buy healthy, organic foods. I wonder if the various neighborhood Trader Joe’s stock locally grown foods.

    Keep up the good work. I look forward to reading more of your posts.

    • reach-yourpeak January 28, 2013 at 1:52 pm #

      Thanks for your feedback! That’s a good question. I know Whole Foods does have locally grown stuff. I have lots of farms in my area that I go to sometimes as well, but plan on going to more. Definitely a way better choice than the general grocery store!

  2. jsresults January 28, 2013 at 5:45 pm #

    Thats interesting that some things are cheaper then regular grocery store. I have one near my house, I will certainly have to check it out!

Leave a Reply

