My Strength Training Routine

26 Jan

It’s the weekend! Get out there and be active to kick off the weekend!

I’m finishing drinking up some green tea then heading to the gym. I need to run AND lift today which stinks…I hate when that happens. After my run, I usually just want to go home. But you gotta do what you gotta do.

This is my second week on my new strength training plan I created for myself. I figured I would share it on here. I’ve been lifting 3 times a week, and it’s a full body routine. I love the challenge of strength training, and the exhilaration of lifting heavier each week.

Here are how my days have been split up:

Day 1:

  • Dumbbell step-ups
  • Barbell deadlift
  • Front foot elevated split squat
  • Inverted row
  • Some bicep, tricep, shoulder exercises
  • Abs

Day 2:

  • Goblet split squat
  • Negative pull-ups
  • Swiss ball leg curls
  • Dumbbell walking lunch
  • Single arm dumbbell row
  • Single leg dumbbell deadlift
  • Biceps, triceps, shoulders
  • Abs

Day 3:

  • Back squats
  • Dumbbell shoulder press
  • Rack pulls
  • Dumbbell reverse lunge
  • Single leg hip raises on swiss ball
  • Pushups
  • Bicep, triceps, shoulders
  • Abs

Every 3-4 weeks I change up all of the exercises and the amount of sets and reps I do in order to keep my body from plateauing.

Time to head to the gym and work on my “Day 3” routine 🙂

What types of exercises do you incorporate into your lifting routine? How often do you switch it up?

Leave a Reply

