Spring Races and Goals

24 Jan

I need winter to be over so it can be spring time and I can start running races!

My first half marathon of the year will be in April or May…I am 90% sure my mom and I will be running the Ocean City Half Marathon on April 27. It sounds really cool because it’s mostly on the boardwalk alongside the ocean, and there’s a big after party with a buffet once you finish (yum). I was looking for a scenic race, and this sounds like it will be. Running alongside the ocean will either be beautiful, or horrible if it’s raining, windy, cold, etc. Hopefully it won’t be!

My mom and I also made a goal (who knows if this is possible) to run a half-marathon or marathon in every state. So this is our first attempt!

On April 21st, we also have a 5K in our town that we do every year: Miles for Matheny. I love this run because it’s for charity, and one that is right in our own community. This is the description on the website: “All proceeds from Miles for Matheny will benefit Matheny’s Center of Medicine and Dentistry, which provides specialized inpatient medical, dental, and therapy care to our inpatients and people with disabilities living in communities throughout New Jersey.”

My mom and me 2 years ago at Miles for Matheny.

I will probably run other spring 5ks too, and marathon training will start closer to the summer (ahh)!

Part of what I want to nail down during half-marathon training is fueling. I always get stomach cramps after races, and towards the final miles I really start to fade. I plan on experimenting with different fueling options. I was using GU but maybe that’s not for me.

Are you running any spring races? Have any fueling tips for me? Is winter over yet?

 

You can follow me on:

2 Responses to “Spring Races and Goals”

  1. Tricia January 25, 2013 at 7:23 am #

    Did you try shot bloks? I used them during my long runs and my half last summer and I noticed a big difference.

    • reach-yourpeak January 25, 2013 at 10:48 am #

      I’ve only tried GU and I think these energy balls from Power Bar? I will have to experiment with shot bloks! Thanks for the suggestion 🙂

Leave a Reply

