This Week’s Grocery Haul

14 Jan

I ate really well last week and want to keep it up this week! Therefore, I got a lot of healthy stuff at the grocery store yesterday that I’m excited about.

A few days ago my mom and I went to Whole Foods first but only picked up a few items, such as Ezekiel bread (which I have been dying to try), organic turkey breast slices, and almond milk (which I could get anywhere but needed it that day), and natural peanut butter.

Yesterday we went to the normal grocery store and picked up a ton of stuff too! Here’s everything we brought home:

allstuffI’ll go through each section so you can get a closer look:

1Above, starting with the beets and going clockwise, we have the beets for a baked chicken and veggies dish, grapes, crushed tomatoes, sweet potatoes, avocados, and hummus.

2

Clockwise again, we got lentils to make a lentil and veggies dish (trying to do a no-meat dinner once a week), organic blueberry jam for my mom, roasted garlic tomato sauce, mixed greens for salads, couscous (because I’ve never tried it), chicken sausage, and apples.

3

Lastly, acorn squash, baby carrots, collard greens to make wraps, plum tomatoes, limes, and oranges.

I can’t wait to make some delicious meals this week!

Do you enjoy grocery shopping as much as I do? What meals do you already have planned for this week?

4 Responses to “This Week’s Grocery Haul”

  1. Lori January 14, 2013 at 4:39 pm #

    Looks fantastic! Couscous is really delicious. I like putting in some toasted almond slices and dried cranberries, along with a bit of curry powder and roast chicken. Maybe you can save some of your chicken from the beet dish to add to the couscous! My guy and I cook a lot on the weekend to have food for the week, so have some roast chicken, some roast vegetables, some lean ground beef with chiles and onions. My guy also made a GREAT Beef Beet Barley soup yesterday…. http://eatingcleanintheoc.wordpress.com/2013/01/14/recipe-beef-and-beet-barley-soup/
    Keep up the good clean eating! Maybe if we all support each other, we can keep it up!

    • reach-yourpeak January 14, 2013 at 4:41 pm #

      That couscous idea sounds delicious (almonds and cranberries) I will have to try that! I have tried cooking on the weekends too and it just never works for me haha.

      I will check out that recipe thanks a lot!

  2. Andrea @Pencils and Pancakes January 14, 2013 at 6:58 pm #

    I also want to try Ezekiel bread! Haven’t seen it anywhere though. Also, I am intrigued by the boxed crushed tomatoes. I really wanted to avoid buying canned tomatoes since they’re not supposed to be good because of the aluminum, but I can’t find even bottled ones anywhere!

    • reach-yourpeak January 14, 2013 at 7:23 pm #

      I got the bread at Whole Foods. Love it!
      I definitely recommend Pomi crushed tomatoes. It’s all natural and no aluminum!

Leave a Reply

