Delicious Green Smoothie Recipe

10 Jan

Yes…a green smoothie. Sounds not so appetizing right? Wrong. This recipe is so good!

I have been all about green smoothies for a while. My boyfriend thinks I’m crazy for drinking them and refuses to even try a little sip because the color weirds him out. But once you get past that, it’s deliciousness. My usual recipes were just a mix of greens and a fruit or two plus water. Then, I found this smoothie recipe on Iowa Girl Eats that’s perfect as a meal or pre-workout shake. My recipes aren’t sufficient enough for me to have as a meal, but this one totally is.

I made this in my magic bullet, not a blender like she did, so my serving sizes were smaller. Magic Bullets are just way easier to clean than blenders.

IMG_3300

Recipe

Serves 1

Ingredients:
1 frozen sliced banana (my banana wasn’t frozen, but the kale I used was. You can also use ice cubes)
1 Tablespoon peanut butter
1/2 cup 0% Vanilla Chobani Greek yogurt (I didn’t use greek yogurt, just the almond milk. For a thicker and even more filling smoothie definitely try using greek yogurt!)
1 cup Unsweetened Vanilla Almond Breeze (or other kind of milk)
4 cups baby spinach (or more, or less) (Didn’t use 4 cups because of the size of the Magic Bullet, but just filled it to the brim with kale)

Directions:

Combine all ingredients in a blender and blend until smooth.

Here’s how I did it using my magic bullet:

First, put in the sliced banana and peanut butter.

IMG_3303Then, add in the almond milk, and greek yogurt if you use that.

IMG_3304

Lastly, just fill to the top with kale or spinach!

IMG_3305Blend and enjoy the frothy deliciousness.

IMG_3307

IMG_3308

Nutritional stats:

350 calories, 10g fiber, 21g protein

Verdict

So good! I swear, you can really only taste the banana and peanut butter. It literally just tastes like a banana + PB smoothie. What a great way to get in a serving of veggies! I have been using this either for breakfast (plus I usually have some eggs) or mainly as a pre-workout shake to get in some protein before a run or lifting. You can use it as a post-workout shake for the same reasons as well (hello, 21g of protein?!).

Do you drink green smoothies? Do you have a favorite recipe? Please share! I’m always looking for new ideas =)

You can follow me on:

5 Responses to “Delicious Green Smoothie Recipe”

  1. Kaitlin January 24, 2013 at 8:31 am #

    I made this green smoothie this morning! I didn’t have vanilla soy milk or yogurt so I used the only milk we had: 2% and I added a teaspoon of vanilla extract. I made it in a regular blender with frozen kale and was able to fit 3 cups but I think next time I will only use 2. My blenders not great so there were some larger pieces of kale that I had to sift through. Next time I’ll know to blend it better – other than that it was really good!! Thank you for this!

    • reach-yourpeak January 24, 2013 at 9:31 am #

      that’s great!! This is one of my favorite smoothies. Using normal milk is fine too. I usually use almond milk not soy. As women NOT going through menopause, consuming soy could throw off your hormones and actually make it harder for you to lose weight/body fat. I’m so glad you liked it! If I try another recipe I will definitely post more =)

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Quick and Easy Meals « - January 10, 2013

    […] Green smoothie – If you know me…or read my post this morning…you know I love green smoothies! Earlier today I posted a delicious recipe, but there are […]

  2. My Favorite Healthy Recipes | - June 28, 2013

    […] {Green Smoothie} […]

  3. Green Smoothie Recipes *Updated* | - February 11, 2014

    […] All-Time Favorite Smoothie […]

Leave a Reply

