2012 in Running!

29 Dec

This is a fun post inspired by Theodora at Losing Weight in the City. It’s a great way to recap 2012 and relive some running moments I may have forgotten about. Here we go:

1. Best Race Experience: I loved all of the NYRR races this past year (me and my mom’s first year with NYRR). But my favorite was definitely the 5th Avenue Mile. I had an awesome race, it was so thrilling running 1 mile down 5th Ave, and I chatted with Kara Goucher and Jenny Simpson.

runners high

So excited to chat with Kara!

So excited to chat with Kara!

Me with Jenny Simpson

Me with Jenny Simpson

2. Best Run: I can’t pinpoint one specific training run that I loved, but I know that running in the fall was my favorite time. This year especially because I wasn’t marathon training in the fall. I was able to really enjoy my fall runs without worrying about distance and pace. Who doesn’t love fall scenic runs like this?

3. Best piece of new gear: Nike capri pants. I always said I’d never wear capri spandex to run or the gym. I thought it’d be too hot, so I always wore shorts. Now I love capris!

4. Best piece of running advice: Hmmm, I will go with my running coach Marc. He pushes me to work hard and not make excuses. I’ve been training him with 2 years now, crazy! Whether it’s advice about pacing, races, shin splints/injuries…he is always responsive and helps me out.

5. Most inspirational runner: I’d have to say Dorothy (from mile-posts). I only recently stumbled upon her blog but she has run 20+ marathons! She truly inspires me to work hard and chase my dreams. Her mantra of “I Run This Body” is one I repeat to myself in races, and a good reminder that a lot of it is all mental.

6. If you could sum up your year in a couple of words, what would they be? Exciting…successful…relaxed….and marathon qualifier because my mom and I completed the NYRR 9+1 races to automatically qualify for the 2013 ING New York City Marathon!

What are your greatest moments? How about 2013 Goals? I will be writing a separate post on my 2013 health/fitness goals…stay tuned 😉

3 Responses to “2012 in Running!”

  1. Mary December 29, 2012 at 11:34 pm #

    Great way to recap your year of running!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Top 5 health/fitness moments of 2012 « - December 30, 2012

    […] Today is the second to last day of 2012! For the last 3 days, I am recapping some special moments of 2012, and writing a 2013 resolution post (stay tuned tomorrow). Yesterday’s post covered my year in running. […]

Leave a Reply

