Strawberry Avocado Salad

28 Nov

This week I’m all about trying new recipes! Today for lunch I had some leftover veggie stew from last night (cooked in my crock pot!) and a strawberry avocado salad. I got the idea from Flourishing Foodie. I have wanted to add fruit to my salads for the longest time but never did because I usually have either tuna or chicken in them, and the thought of fruit with that creeped me out. I’m lame, I know.

So when I made my salads in jars this weekend, I made sure to include this one. Here’s the recipe, with my modifications in bold:

STRAWBERRY AVOCADO SALAD RECIPE
makes 4 salads

INGREDIENTS
4 cups baby spinach
1 avocado, diced
2 cups strawberries, halved
2 – 3 shallots, sliced (didn’t have these)
1/2 cup olive oil
1/4 cup lime juice (didn’t have this, but I used balsamic vinegar to mix with the olive oil)
1 tbsp sugar (didn’t add this)
2 tbsp Dijon mustard (I used honey dijon…yummm)
1/2 tsp salt
cracked pepper
1/4 cup sliced almonds

In a large serving bowl, add the spinach and top with avocado, strawberries, and shallots.
In a small jar with a lid, combine the olive oil, lime juice, sugar, mustard, salt, and pepper. Cover and shake.
Drizzle the dressing over the salad, and sprinkle on the almonds.

It was delicious! I’m not a huge avocado fan but I’m going to try adding it into my salads.

I know this week has been a lot of food and recipes, so I will try to film a new workout video this weekend!

For more healthy tips, recipes, workouts, etc., feel free to follow me on Pinterest =)

3 Responses to “Strawberry Avocado Salad”

  1. Fitness Wayne | Paleo Diet and Exercise November 28, 2012 at 9:39 pm #

    This salad looks great, I will have to try it out and share this with others.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Sunday Recipes « Fitness Wayne - December 2, 2012

    […] you are looking for a great salad, give this strawberry avocado salad a […]

Leave a Reply

