Honey garlic chicken crockpot recipe

27 Nov

I made my first crock-pot dish…and it was awesome! It was great to come home from work, go to the gym, and know dinner would be ready once I got back. Usually my mom and I start cooking after the gym around 7.

For my first crock-pot dinner, I decided to try this honey garlic chicken recipe from Crockpot 365. It looked simple enough and I liked that you could also use it as freezer dinner. The recipe is below, and my modifications are in bold:

Ingredients

1 1/2 to 2 pounds boneless, skinless chicken thighs (I used chicken breasts)
3 garlic cloves, smashed and chopped (I used 2 teaspoons of pre-minced garlic you can buy)
1 teaspoon dried basil
1/2 cup  soy sauce (La Choy or Tamari wheat-free are gluten free)
1/2 cup ketchup (I didn’t want a ton of ketchup for nutritional reasons, so I just squirted a good amount in there)
1/3 cup honey (Again, I just squirted some in there)

The Directions

Use a 4-quart slow cooker (if using a 6-quart, this will cook faster. Check after 3 hours on high, 5 hours on low).
Put the chicken into your cooker. In a small bowl, combine the rest of the ingredients, then pour evenly over the top.
Cook on low for 6 hours or high for 3-4 (I’d go with low—).
Serve with basmati rice and steamed or roasted vegetables. I put all ingredients in a bag and let it marinate overnight, then poured it into the pot in the morning.

My opinion: it was delicious! I like how the chicken got really soft and shredded. It was perfect over rice because it had a little sauce to it. It would go well with roasted veggies as well. My mom is making a beef & vegetable stew in the crock-pot today, so I’ll keep you posted on that. Let me know if you decide to try this!

Leave a Reply

