Race Recap: NYRR Race to Deliver 4 Miler

20 Nov

Let me start this post by saying…my mom and I have completed 9 races out of the 9+1 NYRR program!!! Which means, we just have to volunteer, and then we are set for the 2013 ING New York City Marathon!!!! Words cannot explain how excited I am. I plan on conquering that course, and coming back with a vengeance after last year 🙂

Anyway, my mom and I were excited this was the last race we had to do. Don’t get me wrong, I have loved running in NYRR races, but it’s getting cold and driving back and forth to NYC every few weeks is $$$$$.

That morning was pretty cold when we got to the park (35 degrees I believe), but we started jogging and warming up, so once the race started it wasn’t that bad.

Photo credit: instagram.com/saenim

I told my mom we’d start off easy and feel it out. I wasn’t sure if I wanted to run this race faster to test myself out, or take it easy. My last race of the year is Dec. 8 (5K), and I kind of wanted to see what pace I could run 4 miles in. After a mile, I was feeling awesome, so we decided to run a bit faster. We weren’t going 5K pace by any means, or close to our max, but it definitely wasn’t an easy, comfortable pace!

I felt really strong, even going up those Central Park hills. As my RunKeeper app told me my splits, I knew I would get a PR or close to a PR in the 4 mile. I was just excited I was feeling awesome!

I ended up finishing in……

OH WAIT. I have no idea because my D-tag didn’t work for some reason so NYRR didn’t post my results. Sad. Luckily, I was using my RunKeeper. Actually, it’s pretty weird that happened at the ONLY race I was using my GPS tracking app. Good thing I did! The only downside is, that the final distance said 4.1 miles, not 4. It’s common for GPS watches and apps to be a little long during races, because most people don’t run the tangents of the course (which is how courses are measured out). Therefore, I have no clue if I officially PR-ed, but I’m guessing that since my 4.1 mile time is the same time as a previous 4 mile time, that I did get my best time. My guesstimate is 35:45.

Splits for 4.1 miles

Afterwards, we got our water and bagels and went to get our picture taken. We planned this pose in advance :-p

Holding up 9 fingers for 9 races DONE

It was a beautiful day in the park and the perfect temp. It was in the 40s but once we warmed up we were actually wishing we didn’t wear our cold gear tops.

I found this picture of the race on Instagram too…I thought it beautifully depicts fall/November in Central Park:

Photo credit: instagram.com/saenim

We couldn’t be happier than we completed our goal of 9 races in 2012 with NYRR! It’s been a great running year 🙂

What’s your next road race?

Leave a Reply

