What it’s like to quit coffee

12 Nov

Last week, I quit coffee cold turkey. *gasp*

I was a major coffee addict, and plain ol’ regular coffee didn’t even do the trick for me anymore. My favorite drink was Americanos because they were just pure espresso shots.

I decided to experiment with myself and cut coffee out. Instead, I would drink green tea, and teas without caffeine in the afternoons. The reason I wanted to get myself off coffee is because there have been studies regarding the hormone cortisol, and it’s effects on body fat %, belly fat, and storing fat in general. Caffeine can make cortisol kick in, and therefore make it harder for your body to lose body fat. I tend to store fat in my belly area, so I suspect that I may be sensitive to cortisol. Therefore, I decided to cut caffeine and see what effect it has!

The first day was hard. I felt foggy and sluggish all morning and into the afternoon. By 8 pm, I was exhausted and was ready for bed. I couldn’t believe I felt so tired! BUT that night I got the best night’s sleep I have gotten in a very long time. This made me want to continue the experiment and see if it was related to my cutting coffee.

The second and third day I got headaches in the afternoon (usually I hit an afternoon slump and drink a second cup of coffee). But again, I was sleeping so well, that in the mornings I was waking up with energy.

By the end of the week, I didn’t feel those withdrawal symptoms anymore…only the occasional headache. All week, I seriously slept like a baby. I had absolutely NO idea that I wasn’t sleeping well until this. I just thought I was a light sleeper and it was normal for me to toss and turn and wake up a few times throughout the night. This past week I did not wake up at all. I even woke up BEFORE my alarm some mornings, which never happens. But obviously fell  back asleep because I love my sleep 😉

I’m pretty sure I will not be going back to coffee. Even if there are no measurable effects in terms of body fat %, the effects it has had on my sleep are amazing…and if you know me you know how important sleep is to me!

I would challenge you to try it and see if there are any changes. You may think you are sleeping well or doing fine, but turns out the caffeine is effecting you on a small scale you may not even notice!

Now, every morning I have been drinking green tea. I just bought Bigelow’s green tea with peach (delicious), and decaf chai tea for afternoons when I want something “coffee-like.” I also bought ginger-coconut tea from Teavana to drink at night after dinner to help with digestion.

Have you ever quit coffee? Do you think you could do it?

7 Responses to “What it’s like to quit coffee”

  1. Brianna Brickweg November 12, 2012 at 1:46 pm #

    I love this! I drink tea instead of coffee so I am glad to see someone give it a try. Black tea is also great for mornings because it has that extra little bit of caffeine if you need it. I buy Bigelow Peppermint and keep it at my desk. Good luck continuing the coffee cutoff!

    • reach-yourpeak November 12, 2012 at 2:00 pm #

      I will definitely be continuing without coffee! I love Bigelow tea…I’ll have to try the peppermint, that sounds like the perfect winter tea. I have been drinking green tea in the mornings for a tiny bit of caffeine. I’m so happy I made the switch!

  2. Cait the Arty Runnerchick November 12, 2012 at 6:04 pm #

    oh man, i actually don’t drink coffee but i’ve started to think i’m the only person in the WORLD who doesn’t!! lol. but good for u in kicking it, i hear it’s really tough but like any ‘addiction’ type thing, the worst part is the initial shock. so hopefully it’s getting easier going forward! 🙂

    • reach-yourpeak November 12, 2012 at 8:01 pm #

      haha my boyfriend doesn’t drink it either and I was always like “HOW do you survive without coffee?!” yeah it was definitely tough in the beginning but I feel great now. PS-I just discovered your blog through Blonde Ponytail and look forward to reading more! =)

  3. aburgwin November 15, 2012 at 8:35 pm #

    After reading this I’m thinking…should I quit coffee?? Gasp… I’m obsessed with it. I never have it after about 11am though.

    • reach-yourpeak November 19, 2012 at 12:21 pm #

      I was a major coffee addict too but I am never going back! In just 2 weeks now I’m obsessed with tea lol

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Coffee: Healthy Or Not? | - February 6, 2014

    […] I actually quit cold-turkey once, and started drinking tea. I noticed that I slept much better at night, which helped me feel more awake during the day and not need caffeine. […]

Leave a Reply

