Race Recap: Poland Spring Marathon Kickoff

1 Nov

The race that happened hours before Hurricane Sandy hit.

I don’t think any of us expected it to hit us this hard. I still can’t believe some of the pictures I am seeing. Again, my thoughts and prayers are with all of those affected in the tri-state area.

Anyways, the race was great. We were up at 5:30 am to get into New York City. NYRR said they would make an announcement at 5 am as to whether it was still on, and it was!

We got to Central Park around 7:45 to register, and basically just had time to pick up bibs, pee and get into the corrals.

People milling around the registration area in Central Park

We did a quick warm-up and then went into our corral with 10 minutes to spare. I found a new warm-up routine I have been doing before runs. Along with butt kicks, high knees, etc, I have started doing step-ups on my stairs. That really warms up the glutes, hips, and hammies! Before the race, I did this on the bleachers that are set up for the marathon.

Right before heading to our corral

I went into this race thinking I’d run at an easy pace. It was just going to be a training run for my mom and me. We started off easy and were just chatting and commenting on people’s awesome costumes. When we got to mile 1 I noticed we were running sub-10. I figured, alright, I feel really good and this is not taxing, so I’ll just keep going at whatever pace I feel is good!

It was a 5 mile race, so I didn’t think we would keep that pace the whole time. But all throughout I felt awesome. Around miles 3 and 3.5 I started getting a little tired and slowed down from 3.5-4. Once I got to 4 miles, I figured I’d speed it up a bit for the final mile and my mom and I split up (though she was only 10 seconds behind). For the first time, I had a strong finish for the entire last mile and didn’t feel like I was going to throw up when I crossed the finish. It was also the same finish line we crossed last year when we finished the New York City Marathon 🙂 I finished in 48:19, with an average 9:40 pace. I’ll take it!

We picked up some apples and bagels post-race, stretched and then headed out. It was a great race in the greatest park in the city, which I really hope hasn’t seen too much damage.

Our next race is the Dash to the Finish Line 5K on Saturday in Central Park, though we aren’t sure if it will be cancelled or not. We plan on going into NYC to watch the New York City Marathon on Sunday, but we are waiting to hear from NYRR on what their decision will be.

Have you participated in any New York Road Runner events?

 

At the same finish line as the New York City Marathon!

Leave a Reply

