Fall running is seriously the best

18 Oct

I’m so excited that I was able to run 5 miles yesterday! No shin issues, no pain…felt awesome!

I am an assistant coach for a running class on that meets once a week. They are training for a half marathon, but due to my shin issues (and because I just need a break from long distance) I don’t run as far as they do. They did 9 miles yesterday, and I definitely am not ready to do that kind of distance!

Anyways, it was a beautiful, crisp, fall afternoon…perfect for a run. I ran along the Raritan River on the Canal Towpath. You can’t beat this scenery:

The path is 34.5 miles long so it’s perfect for running. During marathon training last year my mom and I did our 20 mile training run on this path. Looking back on it, I have no clue how we ran 10 miles out and 10 miles back…I cannot fathom that now!

I finished at an average of a 9:50ish minute/mile pace. I can’t wait for my next run tomorrow. I seriously love fall running!

Another picture I took on one of my runs.

Are you a runner? What is your favorite season for running?

6 Responses to “Fall running is seriously the best”

  1. Sarah C October 18, 2012 at 8:27 am #

    Fall running is the BEST – it’s so pretty this time of year, and the temperature tends to be perfect (not too hot, not too cold). Looks like you were on a gorgeous trail!

    • reach-yourpeak October 18, 2012 at 12:00 pm #

      The temp. is definitely PERFECT. Yes, the trail was absolutely beautiful. Too bad it’s 30 minutes from my house or I would be running on it all the time!

  2. trudyj October 18, 2012 at 11:25 am #

    Fall Running is the BEST, but last year I fell in love with running in the winter. Particularly after a snowfall. So quiet and peaceful…now watch me fall this year in the snow.

    • reach-yourpeak October 18, 2012 at 12:00 pm #

      ha! hopefully not! I like running after snow falls too, you’re right it’s very peaceful. I just hate the cold though!!

  3. Fitness Wayne | Paleo, Exercise and Health Blog October 18, 2012 at 11:46 pm #

    Sorry to hear about your shin issues, it sucks being injured. I get shin splints sometimes, what kind of shin injury do you have?

    • reach-yourpeak October 20, 2012 at 7:23 pm #

      I had had shin issues since high school cross country…they never go away even when I rest, ice, etc. I think it is just because I have extremely flat feet and overpronate a lot. It stinks!

Leave a Reply

