Excuses…and why I hate them

11 Oct

I found this blog post on Tony Gentilcore’s site (which is actually a guest post written by trainer Mike Anderson)…and I completely agree. As a personal trainer, I have heard a lot of excuses and a lot of groaning. Mike Anderson says:

“We’ve all heard it a million times; hell, most of us have said it that many times. I just can’t do that!

As a trainer, I hear this way more than I’d like to admit to.

I just can’t do another rep!

 A 7 a.m. session? I can’t wake up that early!

 Stop eating muffins and eat more meat?? I just can’t!

Is it really something you can’t do? Or is it something that you’re not willing to do?”

A lot of friends ask me for help or advice on training and healthy eating. When they hear things they have to cut out, they are like “ehhhhh, not sure if I can do that.” Listen, I am ok with you wanting to eat whatever you want, I don’t judge, whatever. BUT the thing I hate is when people don’t take my advice, and then complain about feeling overweight, out of shape, etc. You know what the solution is.

“Get your ass out of bed and go to the gym. Go for a walk – do something!  I don’t care. The extra hour of sleep in the morning isn’t going to make a difference anyway; if you’re that tired, go to bed earlier.”

I’m not a morning person, so I really can’t force you to go to the gym in the mornings 😉

However, I agree with what Mike is saying. If you have your goal in mind, do something every. single. day. to achieve that goal. It doesn’t necessarily have to be working out, it can be saying no to sweets at the office, or getting an extra serving of vegetables each day. If you know what your common excuse is, then do something to stop it.

My common excuse is: I’m too tired, I really don’t feel like going to the gym. So what do I do? As soon as I get home I change and don’t even let myself sit on the couch or in bed. Once I’m at the gym I feel a million times better.

Mike also asks:

“Why are you not willing to do what it takes to get those results?”

Ask yourself this question next time you “can’t” or “won’t.”

I will leave you with a quote from Mike’s post, which I love:

“The worst is when someone says “I can’t do that” without even trying. How do you know what you can or cannot do? The limits to what you can do are set only by your mind; if you just try I bet you’ll surprise yourself with what you’re actually capable of.”

What’s your excuse and what will you do to eliminate them??

 

About Mike Anderson: Mike is a Boston area personal trainer and currently interning with Boston University Strength and Conditioning. Mike is also finishing his degree in Exercise and Health Science at the University of Massachusetts Boston. You can reach him with any questions, comments or notes of affection at michaelkaneanderson@gmail.com. You can also visit his website:  http://commercialgymtrainer.blogspot.com/

Leave a Reply

