Sweet tooth? No worries.

20 Sep

Do you have a crazy sweet tooth? Don’t worry, so do I.

Can I have these…like now?

Part of eating healthy is giving up those sweet treats you love so much. Now, you don’t have to completely give them up, or give them up forever, but we’ll get to that.

Snacks to Satisfy Your Sweet Tooth

I have several go-to snacks for when I get a craving for those Oreos or ice cream. My best recommendation would be to get some healthy yogurt. On nights I’m craving ice cream, I’ll whip out some vanilla yogurt and that will do the trick. My favorite recently has been Stonyfield Organic French Vanilla and it’s only 70 calories! There are so many flavors to chose from, so you will be able to find one you like. Just make sure you look at the ingredients and make sure it has very few (signs a product doesn’t have many added preservatives or chemicals). Also make sure you look at how many grams of sugar it has. I prefer yogurts without fruit because the fruit adds in a ton of sugar and preservatives. I say buy plain yogurt and add in your own fruit! That’s way more natural.

Other options for a sweet tooth are fruit. Find your favorite fruit and when you get a craving, eat that! I LOVE cutting up a banana and then drizzling a tiny bit of honey on it. Delicious! I also love cantaloupe and watermelon. Those two fruits have high water content, meaning they are more filling, and also have less sugar and carbs to worry about!

Okay, so maybe your just not going to be satisfied with yogurt or some fruit. FINE, here are two other options that are still on the healthier side, but you should indulge in moderation 😉

I love Honey Nut Cheerios. When I really want cookies, I usually eat a small bowl of that instead. If you’re going to eat cereal, at least make it a healthy kind, not Lucky Charms or Cinnamon Toast Crunch. Go for cereals like Honey Nut Cheerios, Cheerios, Kashi, Honey Bunches of Oats, etc.

Lastly, I like buying chocolate bars. BUT, not your ordinary chocolate bars. I buy 90% cacao bars, aka 90% dark chocolate. This definitely is an acquired taste, but once you get used to it, it is awesome. This satisfies my sweet tooth in a second. It’s a little bitter, so you can’t really overindulge like you can with milk chocolate. Plus, we all know dark chocolate may help keep your heart healthy. What’s not to like?

(By the way, if you’re not going to click the above link to read about the benefits of dark chocolate, the main take away you should know is: “Eating a small, 1.6-ounce bar of dark chocolate every day is good for you.” So yeah…dark chocolate > cookies)

It’s Okay to Indulge

You can have those sweet treats…every once in a while. If you really are trying to live a healthier lifestyle, then try to make these swaps, but it’s okay to indulge anywhere from 1-3 times a week. At the same time, if you’re wondering why you’re not losing weight or getting leaner, take a look at your diet. Could you be eating cleaner? I try to eat clean 80% of the time, and let myself have a “cheat” or two on the weekends. I know weekends are hard to stay good, so I really try to make weekdays count.

If you really want to change your lifestyle, I highly suggest using a food log. Track every single thing you put in your mouth…you may be surprised by the results. My suggestion is aim for a 80%/20% ratio (80% clean, 20% “cheats), and if you’re really trying to get leaner, make it 90%/10%.

Speaking of food logs, stay tuned for my next post about my favorite calorie tracking app!

Leave a Reply

