Grocery List Essentials

17 Sep

If you have no clue where to start when you go to the grocery store, then at least make sure you get these 6 things.

I made sure to think of foods that can be used for breakfast, lunch and dinner.

1. Eggs are obviously great for breakfast, and you can eat them hard boiled or make an omelet (in which you can then add in broccoli and mixed greens). Eggs are also great as a snack. You can make a bunch hard-boiled, and then grab-n-go.

2. Canned tuna is a MUST-HAVE. You may think it’s gross and plain, but I rarely have it alone. Lately, I’ve been mixing tuna with freshly steamed broccoli as a snack. I also like to make salads using canned tuna.

3. Bananas are the perfect pre-workout snack. You can dip them in peanut butter, or just eat ’em plain on your way to the gym. Very portable and full of nutrition. I love bananas as a quick source of carbs before or after a workout.

4. Chicken. Also a must-have. Cook it in bulk on a Sunday and you’re set for lunches all week. I like to make mixed-green salads with grilled chicken. For dressings I use olive oil and balsamic vinegar. I like to add almonds too, for a little extra crunch.

5. Mixed Greens can be used for anything. Breakfast, snacks, lunch, dinner. You can make delicious salads with mixed greens as the base, and then add in any veggies you want. I have mixed greens at least once a day with a lunch. I like the bagged kind because it’s easy. I don’t have to worry about waking up and having to wash, cut and dry lettuce leaves. Although it is a little more expensive than if you bought lettuce heads. I think it’s worth it, but I’m also lazy in the mornings!

6. Broccoli. This vegetable is PACKED with nutrients. Healthy carbs, calcium, and so much more. It is also very filling. When I have broccoli with my tuna as a snack, I’m full for at least the next 3 hours. In the mornings, I put some broccoli heads in a bowl with a bit of water, then microwave for 2 minutes. I drain the water out, and voila, it’s ready to be packed in my lunch bag.

You can find my full grocery shopping list here. Eating clean doesn’t have to break the bank.

What are your grocery list must-haves?

Leave a Reply

