Getting Back on Track

11 Sep

Throughout the summer, I did workout regularly…but I definitely was not as consistent as I had been previously. I guess I got into the “summer break” mentality for my workouts, along with my school work!

Today I decided to get back on track. I didn’t log one workout (aside from my running workouts) all summer. I used to be meticulous about logging lifting exercises, weights, sets and reps, tempo, etc. Today I hit the gym, and wrote it all down so I can track my progress again!

Let’s talk about those squats for a minute. I haven’t done barbell squats in probably close to 2 months. I warmed up a bit, did some bodyweight squats, then decided to keep it at 55 lbs. since it had been a while. By the second set, my quads were tightening up, and by the time I finished, they were already sore! Note to self: don’t forget about squats because it will come back to bite you in the @$$…no pun intended πŸ˜‰ So now I can’t go down the stairs, and I honestly don’t think I’ve been this sore since the New York City Marathon. Crazy!

Anyways, I’m starting fresh today, and hope to keep this going! I ate pretty clean today. If you want an idea of my daily intake, here it is:

Breakfast: Protein shake mixed with my coffee, and a tablespoon of peanut butter (YUM). Today I also had a 2 egg omelette with spinach that my mom made for me. Perks of living at home.

Snack: I discovered this DELICIOUS canned tuna…way better than the plain kind. It’s chunk light tuna in olive oil with dried tomatoes. Seriously delicious. I had this with 1 cup of broccoli. Very filling.

Lunch: Chicken with mixed greens and cherry tomatoes.

Pre-workout snack: This isn’t a daily thing, but since I had no bananas around I needed something before my workout, so I had a small bowl of honey nut cheerios. Favorite cereal in the world.

Dinner: Chicken with sweet potato

Snack: 70 calorie pack of Stonyfield Organic Yogurt (has stevia instead of sugar) and a protein shake

That adds up to about 1500 calories.

Now I just need to keep it up! I find that for some reason, when I’m more busy, it’s easier for me to schedule in my workouts. I think when I’m not busy or have days off I end up not working out because I wake up late, say I’ll do it later, and then when “later” comes, I’m too lazy or have plans to hang out with a friend or something.

Do you schedule time in your calendar for your workouts? Do you log your workouts and food?

 

Leave a Reply

