My Grocery Shopping List

26 Aug

A few people had asked me to do a post on what I buy at the supermarket for all my meals. I general eat pretty clean throughout the week…it’s the weekends that get me! Here’s what I generally buy for each meal category (and what meals I make) for some inspiration or if you’re looking to change things up in your diet.

Breakfast Items:

  • eggs (usually eat hard boiled eggs for breakfast)
  • egg whites for when I’m having hard boiled eggs as a snack later in the day, or with my lunch
  • organic chicken or turkey sausage (sometimes I have this as a snack in between breakfast and lunch)
  • for emergencies (like no time) -honey nut cheerios with skim milk
  • protein powder (will talk about this more below). I like to use my magic bullet to mix up protein powder, water and peanut or almond butter. Then I pour it into my coffee mug and pour my coffee on top. Delicious, filling and quick!

Lunch Items:

  • during the week I really only eat a mixed green salad, so I buy the bags of mixed greens, and add in any type of protein I’m feeling that day, like eggs or tuna. Sometimes chicken if it’s leftover from dinner
  • olive oil and balsamic vinegar as dressing
  • cherry tomatoes
  • dried cranberries
  • alfafa sprouts

Dinner Items:

  • here’s where you can go crazy with any type of protein (and ways to cook it): chicken, fish (salmon, tilapia, etc), turkey any sort of beef. I usually make my own ground beef for burgers instead of buying it already ground up. I typically grill everything outside since my mom hates when food smells take over our house.
  • any veggies you like…my favorites: zucchini (both the green and yellow kind), asparagus, spinach, chick peas to add in a side salad, portobello mushrooms (or general mushrooms), spaghetti squash, acorn squash (delicious in a homemade chicken soup), cauliflower, broccoli, carrots, red and green peppers (my mom always adds these into any pasta or tomato sauce we make…love peppers), onions
  • healthy carb options: quinoa, sweet potatoes, brown rice (and you also can get your carbs from some veggies too, like broccoli)
  • quick dinner idea: rotisserie chicken from your local grocery store

Snack Items:

  • Protein powder (!) my favorite, quick and easy snack. I use Optimum Nutrition Gold Standard 100% Whey protein. Sometimes I just make a protein shake with just water, other times I add stuff like almond butter and cinnamon in, and it’s delicious!
  • All berries – blackberries, blueberries, strawberries (these are low carb/low sugar so they are a great snack)
  • Pineapple
  • Watermelon
  • Pre-workout fruits: bananas, apples
  • Grapefruit (I’ve been having this between breakfast and lunch…surprisingly it is rather filling)
  • Nuts: cashews, pecans, almonds, pistachios…and you can add these in salads. My favorite are cashews.
  • Almond butter to put on bananas or apples
  • Celery (also pairs well with almond butter…and hummus of course)
  • 80-90% Dark chocolate. Tastes bitter at first but you get used to it…now I can’t have milk chocolate anymore

*Splurge-y snack items that are still considered “healthy” (unlike the Ben & Jerry’s I just had last night…)*

  • Nature Valley bars (I LOVE the Sweet & Salty almond bars as an emergency pre/post-workout snack if I’m starving. They are so good.)
  • Chobani greek yogurt (The reason I put this here is because I get the ones with the fruit, which = more preservatives/ingredients/sugar/carbs. But if you buy plain and put in your own fruit, then it’s a pretty dang healthy snack!) I like the apples and cinnamon flavor…YUM.
  • Normal flavored yogurt (I’ve been having Stonyfield Organic Vanilla yogurt as a post-dinner dessert occasionally)
  • Honey nut cheerios/plain cheerios

I feel like I am forgetting a lot of stuff, but that’s what I can think of right now, and I even went into my food log app to see if I’m missing anything.

I hope this helps and provides people with some new ideas! If you have anything I am missing, leave it in the comments because I am always looking for new snack ideas.

If you had to pick one healthy food to eat for the rest of your life, what would it be?

2 Responses to “My Grocery Shopping List”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Grocery List Essentials « - September 17, 2012

    […] can find my full grocery shopping list here. Eating clean doesn’t have to break the […]

  2. Keeping Sane at the Grocery Store: 8 Simple Tips - Alex Tries it Out - May 21, 2013

    […] can find a video of my typical grocery shopping here, and a list of the foods I typically buy here (this was actually one of my first blog posts). I have done a few other hauls and posts about […]

Leave a Reply

